Counties No Longer
Part of Virginia
Or Absorbed by Cities

Locate Your Ancestors |
Mobile Users, for best results, turn sideways or horizontal or long-way

This website is a resource for genealogy researchers trying to locate ancestor information, family history, and historical records.

Old and new declarations of intention and old and new petitions, citizenships

| Search This Site | Policy / Contact us |

| Naturalizations Sitemap | Main Sitemap |

All Absolute Free to browse-reading Through

Counties no longer in existence, renamed or part of another state.
Accawmack - formed as original county 1634, renamed Northampton 1642.
Alexandria - ceded 1801 to District of Columbia, 1849 returned to Virginia, renamed Arlington.
Bourbon - now part of state of Kentucky
Charles River - formed 1634, renamed York 1842.
Dunmore - 24 Mar 1772 from Frederick, renamed 12 Jan 1778 to Shenandoah
Fincastle - organized 8 Apr 1772 from Botetourt, abolished 1777.
Illinois - ceded to US Government 1787 (eventually State of Illinois)
Kentucky - formed 7 Dec 1776, abolished 30 June 1780 when Fayette, Jefferson and Lincoln counties were formed. Now part of state of Kentucky.
Lower Norfolk - formed from New Norfolk, abolished 16 May 1691 to form Norfolk and Princess Anne
New Norfolk - formed 1636 from Elizabeth City County, abolished when divided into Upper and Lower Norfolk counties in 1637.
Upper Norfolk - formed 1637 from Lower Norfolk, name changed to Nansemond
Old Rappahannock - formed 1656 from Lancaster County, abolished in 1692 when it was divided into Essex and Richmond counties.
Warrosquyoke - organized 1634, name changed to Isle of Wight 1637
Warwickshire - formed 1634 as original county, renamed Warwick 1642

West Virginia's counties - Barbour, Berkeley, Boone, Braxton, Brooke, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Fayette, Gilmer, Grant, Greenbrier, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Harrison, Hopewell, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawah, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mineral, Monongalia, Monroe, Morgan, Nicholas, Ohio, Pendleton, Pleasants, Pocahontas, Preston, Ritchie, Roane, Summers Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Wayne, Webster, Wetzel, Wirt, Wood, Wyoming

Yohogania - formed 6 Nov 1776 from Augusta County, much of it ceded to Pennsylvania in 1786, what's left being too small to create a separate county, added to Ohio County, West Virginia).

Cities renamed, annexed or absorbed
Elizabeth City county annexed to Hampton 1952
Warwick - annexed to Newport News 1958
Virginia Beach - annexed the Princess Anne County 1963
Nansemond City merged with city of Norfolk
Chesapeake, part transferred to Portsmouth 1968
Charlottesville, Clifton Forge, Galax, Harrisonburg, South Boxton, Williamsburg annexed territories from adjoing counties.

Return to Previous Page or Back to Top

All Rights Reserved Copyright 1999-Present W. David Samuelsen